Hot on HuffPost:

See More Stories

Lisa Murkowski Defeats Joe Miller, Hangs On to Alaska Senate Seat

4 years ago
  0 Comments Say Something  »
Text Size
After more than a week of ballot counting, Sen. Lisa Murkowski has been named the winner in Alaska, defeating tea party favorite Joe Miller and becoming the first Senate candidate in more than 50 years to win a write-in campaign.

With only 700 votes left to count Wednesday afternoon, state election officials announced that Murkowski's lead was insurmountable.

The Associated Press reported that the incumbent was ahead by about 10,000 votes -- a total that includes 8,153 ballots challenged by the Miller campaign over issues like legibility, misspellings or extra words.

Before hopping a plane from Washington to Alaska, the senator emailed supporters Wednesday and proclaimed that the campaign "made history."

There was no immediate comment from the Miller camp. Earlier Wednesday, the Republican said Alaska's computerized voting system is "suspect" and that the returns from the Nov. 2 election should be counted again -- by hand, the Anchorage Daily News reported.

Miller has said he would consider legal action in the event of a razor-thin margin, but he also conceded that he would give up the fight if it appears the math doesn't work in his favor. Last week a federal judge dealt Miller a blow by denying his request to throw out any apparent votes for Murkowski that misspelled her name.

The state said more than 98,500 write-in ballots were cast.

Miller, a little-known conservative lawyer who went on to get the coveted Sarah Palin endorsement, shook up Alaska politics when he defeated Murkowski in the GOP primary. He appeared headed for the Senate until Murkowski decided to stage a write-in campaign. On election night, the number of write-in votes exceeded the number that Miller received by about 41 to 34 percent. Democrat Scott McAdams came in third with 25 percent of the vote.

The last Senate candidate to win as a write-in was Strom Thurmond (R-S.C.) in 1954.
Filed Under: 2010 Elections, Tea Party

Our New Approach to Comments

In an effort to encourage the same level of civil dialogue among Politics Daily’s readers that we expect of our writers – a “civilogue,” to use the term coined by PD’s Jeffrey Weiss – we are requiring commenters to use their AOL or AIM screen names to submit a comment, and we are reading all comments before publishing them. Personal attacks (on writers, other readers, Nancy Pelosi, George W. Bush, or anyone at all) and comments that are not productive additions to the conversation will not be published, period, to make room for a discussion among those with ideas to kick around. Please read our Help and Feedback section for more info.


View All »

Discover inspiring videos on TEDWomen where people are reshaping our future with ideas.

View the Video »

Follow Politics Daily

Politics Home Page : Roll Call